Project X: The Bloggers’ Cooking Competition

Project X is an amateur cooking competition exclusively for the bloggers and social media members of Kuwait. The project is the brain child of Basma Al Musalam from the blog 13 Cups and Ahmad Al Hindi from Food Maestros, and it is being hosted by Chef Boutique.

I was one of the lucky few bloggers to be selected to participate, and we were invited a while ago for a briefing and technical skill session; I must say that left us impressed and super excited!

Now the wait is finally over, and the competition will kick start tomorrow and continue till Saturday for the qualifiers round, while next week will host the final round that will be held among the 6 teams that will qualify this weekend!

I never thought I’d be participating in a cooking competition! I only discovered my relation with cooking after I got married! Not that I do it very often, but I do enjoy it very much when I’m at my kitchen mixing some crazy ingredients.

The rules and regulation may sound simple, here’s a hint of our do’s & don’ts:

– Unassisted contest – no cook books, aids, google, phone-a-friend, etc
– Can’t use the same prominent ingredient in more than 1 dish
– Teams must be prepared to explain steps & thinking behind the dish to judges
– Time limits apply strictly (90 minutes)
– Access to pantry available to all contestants
– Pantry stock used on 1st come 1st served basis
– Judges decision is final

Speaking of the judges, let me introduce the wonderful panel:

Basil Alsalem: Mastermind behind OFK, Burger Boutique, Cocoa Room, Slider Station
Fahad Alyehya: The Diet Ninja will be in the house!
Jumana Alothman: Owner of Breakfast & Brunch
Ziad Alobaid: of Top Chef
Chef Mongkon from Chef Boutique

And last but not least, the Team Behind “Project X” are the following:

Victor & Olga from Chef Boutique
Ahmed Alhendi from Food Maestros
Basma Almusallam of 13Cups.com
Filming Crew, Editor & Director: Tareq Al-Askar & Salma Alyaseen

So now you know some details, wish me luck, and stay tuned to know how it goes in the qualifiers round tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

