Forgiveness: Foolish or Divine?

Forgiveness is a promise, not a feeling; when you forgive other people, you are making a promise not to use their past sins & mistakes against them..But what if that past caused you harm and pain back in the day? What if someone have done you wrong? would you consider forgiving & forgetting? or would you say that’s a foolish thing to do, bearing in mind ‘Fool me once, shame on you; fool me twice, shame on me’?

It’s well understood that forgiveness does not change the past, but it definitely does enlarge the future..However, I still can not get myself to forgive when I’m hurt by someone I love..Maybe because I would never do such a thing..Maybe I’m not strong enough..As they say forgiveness is the attribute of the strong, not the weak..And maybe I can forgive but I just don’t want the person to forget that I did..Maybe I have to forgive, to forget..And forget, to feel again..But it’s still easier to blame, as to blame is human and to forgive is divine..Except how can you really forgive, if you can’t forget?

I believe forgiving is like giving someone the permission to hurt you again! And at the end of the day, people do mistakes because they know it’s easier to get forgiveness than permissions.

How would you switch forgiveness from an occasional act into a permanent attitude? And how would you get over the shaken trust that you gave to a person who hurt you? Have you ever been hurt by loved ones? And what did you do?

Leave a Reply

